Love, Act, Talk, Think

So, like many others, I have been pondering the horrible tragedy from last Friday. Unlike others, last Friday night I held my annual party with Santa, presents, food, drink, and my favorite- my besties, so that day and evening were not over-clouded with the thoughts that 20 children and 6 teachers were gunned down by a mentally disturbed man. At that moment, I had the luxury of focusing on something different- the beauty of the holidays upon us.

But many people that day didn’t have that luxury. Particularly those who were directly affected, but also the nation as a whole. The news spread like wildfire and I watched social media sites run rampant with the grief, sadness, and anger at what had happened.

I knew I needed to sit down and write about this. Even though I was able to “ignore” the event that day I knew that as a mother of a kindergartner, a teacher, and (since I’m taking off the year to write my dissertation, I guess right now you could also call me a writer), I had to pull my thoughts together.

And now, after days of pondering the events, I realized that our society is doing this whole living thing backwards- we 1. think 2. talk (sometimes those can be interchangeable) then 3. act, and finally 4. We love.

People, that’s all in the wrong order. And I am guilty of it just like the rest of America.

Think and Talk

Facebook, twitter, news, blogs, etc. have burst to the seams with this topic. I don’t want to be morbid, but I have been very interested in what people are saying. So much of it talks of political reform concerning both gun control and mental health care. People are telling stories of the victims and the heroics of the teachers who stood between the gunman and the small children. Personal stories have been beautifully written by people who are parents to children with uncontrollable anger. This story at Sandy Hook hit home with so many people. The senseless murder of such innocent angels makes everyone stop and think- how can this get better?

Act

Yes, I am a strong advocate of gun control. If it were up to me I’d say round them up and get rid of all of them. I am no idiot though, and I know that is not a possibility with the thousands of guns that are already in every other home here in the U. S. of A. I am also no politician, but I do hope SOMEthing happens- at least for the future sales of guns. Regulation at least. I mean this photo discussing how it’s easier to keep a gun {that KILLS people} than it is to drive {yes, which also KILLS people, but that is not its sole purpose} is ridiculous. But is that going to save those kids from Friday? No, its not. And guns are already out there, so will it save a tragedy from happening tomorrow? Probably not. But hopefully our legislators will figure something out so in a few years maybe it might just be a little harder for a mentally ill person to go into an elementary classroom (or any classroom, mall, public place) with an armful of deadly guns. Maybe.

As for mental health care, for goodness sake listening to people’s stories about how difficult it is to help those who have pretty severe issues has to make people think that mental health care system has GOT to be taken seriously. I have deceased family members who had serious mental health issues and if that were passed down to my children, or me, the resources that are available are so limited. How is that o.k.? How is it that we live in a nation full of wealth and medical miracles but that part is being overlooked? As a family we have great insurance, but does it pay for the fantastic help I am receiving from a therapist? No. And trust me people, I need it.

That is not o.k.

Love

But the reason I am glad that it has taken me so long to write this post is because I have been reminded that people do care. We do want to do the right thing. Help those people who need help: personally, monetarily, and/or emotionally. And like I said, it should never take a tragedy such as this to make people act. And love.  But even though we are doing it out of order, we as a people come together in times such as this.

We are reminded, as a nation, our love for those who educate children. As teachers we are reminded that we will do ANYthing for our students. Even though being a teacher today is much tougher than it was when I began, it reminds us that we can make a difference in the life of a child- other by saving them physically or emotionally or academically. Our profession is one that is full of love. That is our job.

In the past days I have seen people come together to help others. Here. Here and Here. We DO love. We love our children. We love our mentally disabled. We love our teachers. We love each other.

We do Love.

Sometimes we just don’t always show it.

So although I do believe that we want to live life in the right order: love, act, talk and think, we sometimes get complacent. We get a little selfish. We get a little tired.

I am so, beyond, ridiculously guilty of that.

But I need to NOT be.

Join me, friends. For those of you who feel like I do. Who feel like I could live my life in the correct order, join me in creating a conscious thought of putting love first.  Putting others first. And then acting upon that love. Even if you are to just light one candle, remembering that we all live under the same sky is enough.  But go find one thing in your life that you can change or do to put someone else whose needs are great above your own.

Come together to Love, Act, Talk, Think.

Let’s give {just one, for now} an act of love for those little babies who are no longer here, then go to work on changing how we can shift our perspective to make love come first in our lives.

a good place to start.

a good place to start.

6 thoughts on “Love, Act, Talk, Think

  1. I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here.

    The sketch is attractive, your authored material stylish.
    nonetheless, you command get bought an edginess over that you wish be
    delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come further formerly again since exactly the same nearly
    very often inside case you shield this increase.

  2. First of all I would like to say superb blog! I had a quick question
    which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I
    was curious to find out how you center yourself and clear
    your mind prior to writing. I have had trouble clearing my thoughts
    in getting my ideas out there. I do take pleasure in writing
    however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes
    are usually lost simply just trying to figure out how to
    begin. Any recommendations or hints? Kudos!

Leave a Reply

