River, it’s time to come out now!

It seems that all the pep talks that I’ve been giving my unborn son seem to be doing no good. Is this a sign of what is yet to come? If so, I’m in trouble. ๐Ÿ™‚

So last night was a rough one. Starting around 3ish I was having pretty intense contractions, but far apart and not incredibly consistent. So I got up after trying to sleep through them and went downstairs to watch Mission Impossible. I felt at the time it was a fitting movie given my situation. Afterwards, I felt as if I was able to sleep a little more so I went upstairs and passed out for a couple of hours. I then woke up around 10 to get ready for our Doctors appointment in hopes that my body was ready to give birth. When we went to the Dr. she checked me and said that I was a “loose 1cm dialated” and then proceeded to “rupture my membranes” to help me progress. Ladies, whenever a doctor says that, be prepared! It was incredibly uncomfortable having someone really DIG in that area, but as kyle so politely pointed out, birth will be way more “uncomfortable” then that.

So with the rupturing of my membranes, I am having a pretty painful day (the rupturing causes contractions and other stuff) so I am trying to relax and keep busy all at the same time- whatever hurts less. Tonight we have dinner plans with our good friends Emily and Brett at their new house in Saint Paul, where I hope to bless the new house with some amniotic fluid. Just kidding guys– kinda. ๐Ÿ˜‰

5 thoughts on “River, it’s time to come out now!

  1. Erin,
    I sure hope that you had a better nights sleep last night. We are all missing you a ton and wish we could be there to help in the process. Patience is not an easy thing right about now so, I guess its time to deliver.
    Can’t wait for the call!!!!
    Deb

  2. River is so excited to meet his Mommy and Daddy – and I know you can’t wait to meet him. I am so thrilled for you, I hope he comes out soon!!

    Love,
    ~Erin

  3. Hey Erin,

    I look forward to reading about your news. I know how hard the wait is for a little one to arrive. I wish you the best…it sounds like the process is beginning. You are going to be such a great Mother!!

    Megan

  4. WOOOHOOO!!! JD and me are having a birthday party for river (as soon as the call comes) LETS GO MOMMA ERIN!!! BOO YA!!!!

  5. River, If you are waiting for an Independence Day birthday I hope you let your ma ma sleep between contractions. I heard from your parents earlier today that you were coming. Now that the evening is here I hope you are too.

Leave a Reply

