Why Nepal?

Ahhh, the second most asked question very close behind “why adopt?”

Well, at the time when we began speaking with our agency about international adoptions (around August, 2008) there were only a few different countries open to us (at least through our agency). China was the country we were initially drawn to. This was the case for a couple of different reasons. That summer I had spent a couple of weeks in China exploring for a class through the University of St. Thomas. I loved being there again (I was last there on my global semester through St. Olaf) and was amazed by the change in the country. We then did some research on China and realized that the country seems to be needing their girls in the future (because so many of them are being adopted out, the population numbers between females and males are getting skewed). So knowing that, we began to look at other countries in Asia. No real good reason for the Asia thing, that was just the continent which we were drawn to.

So we looked at our other options. In August, Nepal was not even open yet, but our agency put it into our heads that if we were the adventurous type (which I like to think of myself as an adventurous soul) that Nepal might be the place for us. Now for a while we were very skeptical because before Nepal closed in 2007, it only allowed couples to adopt who were infertile. So since we were in no rush we decided to wait and find out if Nepal would change that rule (and our agency said they thought it might change when they opened back up) and low and behold when the new rules came out (somewhere around the time they opened up in January of this year), we were legal to adopt in Nepal.

Other countries interested us (Philipines, Vietnam, etc.) but we really felt a connection with Nepal. I have gone to Nepal in 1999 on that same Global semester I mentioned before, and absolutely loved it when I was there. The mountains are incredible, and the people were so kind and welcoming. I will never forget my first evening on a trek around the Kathmandu Valley when we stayed in the backyard of a Buddhist nun monastery. We fell asleep to the most peaceful chanting, and then woke up to the same beautiful sound. I will never forget that night, and the many nights after when I was taken through some of the most beautiful landscape I have ever imagined.

I think I may have appreciated that landscape somewhat more than others. Growing up in Boulder, Colorado I had mountains surrounding me at all times (well, at least to my west:) and I feel as if they are a part of my soul. Being in Nepal gave me a sense of home, which at that point in my travels, was incredibly refreshing. Since Kyle and I are both Coloradans, we feel like we have a connection with the country of Nepal. I not only feel a connection with the landscape, but also the culture and people give me a sense of comfort. It is a country that really rings true with who I am, and Kyle is so excited to go and experience everything I have told him about. We both can’t wait to someday teach our Nepalese daughter about her amazing country, and show her all its beauty.

There are so many reasons “why Nepal”, but the best one that I can give you right now is that Nepal is where my daughter is, and hopefully soon I will get the call telling me that it is time to go and meet her.

Shanti.

Leave a Reply

