Guess What? Chicken Butt!

This is one of our favorite games to play (River and I) and I love it because it always ends with a beautiful little giggle.

We also like, “Guess who? Cacadoo, I love you!” and “Guess why? On the fly!” I know, it doesn’t make sense. But what almost 3-year-olds world DOES make sense? I love it.

So as for making sense… or not, here’s what’s going on in our adoption world. As of now, if you’re paying attention to the little ticker on the side of the blog, we are coming up on the year mark for our dossier being in Nepal. As for Nepal, it is very quiet right now. There have been around 100 adoptions completed, and to complete the 2009 que of dossiers, they have around 400 more to go. I’m not totally sure where we are in that que, but I am content somewhat okay with sitting here and waiting, but obviously hoping we get a referral sometime in the near future. Most people (I believe) who have gotten referrals have already traveled to pick up their children, so now I am assuming they are matching kids with parents. We also know that since we asked for an infant, our wait time will most likely be longer than some.

As for Rwanda, I was assuming that this would be a quick process, and it still may be. From what my agency says, we are probably somewhere around 65-70(th) in line. Yes, that is drastically fewer than Nepal, but the amount of people they have working on adoptions are much, much smaller. They are used to no more than 15 adoptions a year, and since recently there have been agencies helping families put together their paperwork (just as we have done) the number has sky-rocketed. The wait time, as of now, could be anywhere between 9 months to 4 years. I have read though that they have hired an extra person recently to help with this process, so the timing could go down. Yes, I assumed that this process would be quick, but alas, it might be years longer than Nepal. Oh well, such is the world of international adoption!

Now, even though I am focusing on the painful waiting time in this post, I have to say that I am excited to meet (even if years down the road) my beautiful daughter(s). I have learned a ton about both places, and have fallen in love with the culture and people. I always look for a new, cultural things to learn about and these adoptions have given me incentive to go out and do more. I have truly been fulfilled after meeting Subhash, and now, surprisingly Subhash told me that he gave me the position of Director of Finances for the Sarswati Foundation. I quickly reminded him that I am a social studies teacher and not a math teacher, but he said he wanted someone he trusted, and so I was honored.

Both Nepal and Rwanda have such amazing cultures. No matter what happens in the next months and years, I will always be tied to these two countries. I feel so blessed for that timeless connection.

Leave a Reply

