Ready, Set, Go!

Ya, that’s what this past week felt like. A lot of “ready, set and GO!”

It was a wonderful week. My mom and brother came into Minnesota on Thursday afternoon so we were able to relax and enjoy each others company for awhile. With Saturday coming up though, that relaxation was very short lived. At 4am Saturday morning I slowly got up to prepare for my first triathlon in Minneapolis~ The Lifetime tri. It was a beautiful morning and I was SO thankful I had my brother and mom there to explain to me exactly what I was supposed to do. It was much more complicated than I ever imagined! Knowing me, I’d have shown up after the race had started and then wouldn’t be able to compete. 🙂 But thankfully, I had a great support system at the race including Kyle and River. It was hard, but a lot of fun. I look forward to doing another one in the future, but no, nothing longer than a sprint distance (750 m swim, 20 km bike, 5 km run). Ya, that’s my limit.

So here are some pictures from the event…

run mommy run!

Uncle Colin did so well that he got 9th place overall in the Olympic distance! Nice job Uncle Colin! Hopefully someday River will have as much drive as his Uncle does…

After the tri my mom had to hop a plane and catch a concert with my dad for the evening, so kyle, river, colin and I headed back to Northfield to prepare for River’s 3 year Mickey Mouse birthday party. Thank goodness River had a nice nap as we got everything ready for a fun time with lots of friends and kids. Although Grammy was missed, we had a fun time celebrating River’s birthday together. Kids decorated Mickey ears, played with toys and each other, and adults had some nice time to talk and catch up. Although I was very tired, I loved it!

Sunday, as River and I headed up to Minneapolis to enjoy Nicole and Rory’s beautiful baby shower, we dropped off Uncle Colin at the airport and River made it abundantly clear that he wanted to go with him. After Colin went into the airport, River said over and over, I miss Colin, I want Colin, I love Uncle Colin! It was so sweet it made me tear up. I’m glad to know that my little boy loves his Uncle.

It was a fun week- and now, for at least a few days, I’m ready to rest. 😉

Leave a Reply

