From Nepal to Alabama

Wow.

That’s where my heart is right now… “WoW”.

After posting the quick little update on our adoption earlier this morning, I never thought this would happen. Never, not this fast.

Well, the story is this.

A few days ago I got a call from my case worker from crossroads telling me that a woman in Alabama was going to view my profile. My case worker has called before letting us know this (as you have previously read) and the birthmother decided to keep the child. We have not gotten any calls since, but I have assumed that our profile has been shown here and there and we just didn’t know about it.

J, our case worker from crossroads told me the situation with the birthmother, and it fit into exactly what we were hoping for (although we are pretty open to just about anything- but still:) and she even has a little boy just River’s age. I thought in my head that will work either for, or against us. Our family is similar to hers so that is a bonus, but also she knows how hard it can be at times with a 3 year old- which may be a negative. Well, I guess that was a positive.

J called during my 3rd hour class today and said the 3 words I have been longing to hear for such a long time…

“She picked you.”

Me? Us? Our crazy little wonderful family is where she wants her little girl (yes, girl) to live and get loved? Us? Me? After all this time is was so hard to believe that this adoption dream is finally going to come true. She picked us.

So, as long as everything goes as hoped, we will pick up our daughter 5 days after the birthmother signs the adoption papers. She is planning a C-section (since her little boy was a C-section) which will be scheduled soon. (She is due December 11, and typically they do C-sections a week or two prior to the due date). Alabama’s law is that the birthmother has 5 days after the signing to change her mind, which is why they advised us not to come until that point. And yes, she could change her mind at any point between now and 5 days after the birth.

I assume at this point the birthmother has thought about this process a lot. The thoughts that would be rolling around in my head if I were her would be all over the place. But I think that, if it were me, by the time I picked out the family, and told my agency to call the adoptive parents and let them know, that I would be quite sure. Selfishly, for our sake, I hope so.

So, I’ve cried a lot today. I’ve felt a LOT today, and I’ve been able to get absolutely no work done.

It’s been wonderful.

Keep our daughter and her birthmom in your prayers. And us too if you like, but at this point all we have to do is sit and wait.

Who would have imagined a year ago that we would go from Nepal to Alabama? Life is crazy sometimes, and beautiful. All I know now is that I already have an undying love for this unborn child,  who is not going to be born from my body, but instead from my heart.

Adoption is truly, and completely, a blessing.

12 thoughts on “From Nepal to Alabama

  1. Oh my gosh!!! That must have been so surreal to get that call. I can only imagine:) I hope everything goes smoothly for you.

  2. Oh, Erin, I got chills reading this post!! I am so excited for you and wow, this is going to happen quickly. I will definitely have you in my prayers and especially until she comes home! Yeah, you never know, it is crazy–Nepal to Alabama!! Whoo hoo!! –Shelly

  3. We are so happy for you all. Since I have grandchildren through the adoptive process, I can appreciate the incredible miracle it is! God has a plan. And remember. . . the pencil is never wrong.

  4. Oh this is Wonderful news! Hold on tight. If she’s meant to be your girl, she will be. Nothing will stop it from happening. Right now, I guess these are your labor pains…this waiting, waiting…God bless you right now in this situation and keep us all posted on every little thing.
    Thanks for opening your world up to us.
    Love,
    Aunt Krisha

  5. So very Happy for you all… Enjoy that beautiful new addition and spending this special time with your family.. Memories are being made 🙂

Leave a Reply

