Kaiya Meadow

This morning, at 7:55, a baby was born.

She was going to be nameless until the birthmother found out what the adoptive parents wanted to name her, and she decided that it was fitting. She then named her, Kaiya.

Our daughter, Kaiya.

She was born in Alabama, to a brave mother. She was 7lbs, 20 inches long, with a head full of black hair. Although I have not yet seen her, I know she is perfect.

This afternoon, when I found out all of this overwhelming information, I also found out that the birthmom wanted to talk with me. So, a very nervous me, called this woman who I have never met before, but had just given birth to my daughter, and asked her how she was.

I felt silly.

Our conversation was good. She wanted to make sure that I knew that her decision was final (even though I believe her, there is still a part of me that is very scared for the next few days). She was so sweet, and she said that Kaiya was beautiful. I could tell she was sad, and when I said thank you (many different times, like a blubbering fool) she said, with so much love in her voice, that she just wanted to give this girl a chance, and she knows that she can’t do that for her right now.

If only I could have given her a hug.

I also told her that I was so happy that I was able to speak to her on the birth day. For that, along with so many other things, I will be forever thankful. Although I must have sounded like an idiot, that conversation was worth a million… anything.

I am forever thankful.

Forever thankful.

Happy birth day, my long-awaited Kaiya.

We {all} love you.

7 thoughts on “Kaiya Meadow

  1. I’m crying too. I’m also so proud of you for calling the birthmom. What a tough thing to do! But it really sounds like she knows exactly what she’s doing.

    Can’t wait to meet Kaiya!

  2. Erin and Kyle – I too am crying. Adoption is very dear to my heart. I think I’ve told you that story before. Very, very excited for you three! She is very beautiful – love her head of hair. I am very touched by the feelings of love in your words. A gift from God that was meant for you! Congratulations!!! Can’t wait to meet her!

Leave a Reply

