somewhere over the rainbow…

Almost 8 years ago my dad and I danced to this song at Kyle’s and my wedding in Vail. It is a song that has been sung by many, but the best version, in my opinion was done by the Hawaiian artist, IZ. As I am sitting here on my last full day in Maui with Autumn at my feet, River napping in the room next door, and the ocean crashing just a few steps away, this song came on and I was hit with emotion. I know I’ve said this in other posts when I am here in Hawaii, but I feel so blessed.

Now more than ever.

So, I felt that it was important to remember the priceless lyrics to this song. Many of you know them by heart, but hearing or reading them again, I feel, is always refreshing to the soul.

Mahalo my friends. Never stop dreaming.

*****************************************************************************
Somewhere, over the rainbow, way up high,
And the dreams that you dreamed of,
Once in a lullaby.

Oh, somewhere over the rainbow,
blue birds fly, And the dreams that you dreamed of,
Dreams really do come true.

Someday, I’ll wish upon a star,
Wake up where the clouds are far behind me.
Where trouble melts like lemon drops,
High above the chimney top,
That’s where you’ll find me.

Oh, somewhere, over the rainbow, bluebirds fly,
And the dreams that you dare to.
Oh why, oh why can’t I?

Well, I see trees of green and red roses too,
I’ll watch them bloom for me and you.
And I think to myself: What a wonderful world!

Well, I see skies of blue and I see clouds of white,
And the brightness of day.
I like the dark and I think to myself:
What a wonderful world!

The colors of the rainbow, so pretty in the sky,
Are also on the faces of people passing by.
I see friends shaking hands, saying, ‘How do you do?’
They’re really saying, ‘ I…I love you!’

I hear babies cry, and I watch them grow,
They’ll learn much more than we’ll know.
And I think to myself: What a wonderful world!

Someday, I’ll wish upon a star,
Wake up where the clouds are far behind me.
Where trouble melts like lemon drops,
High above the chimney top,
That’s where you’ll find me.

Oh, somewhere, over the rainbow, way up high.
And the dreams that you dare to,
Oh why, oh why can’t I?

4 thoughts on “somewhere over the rainbow…

  1. This song, by Iz or anyone, has always been my favorite. I guess being from Kansas helped some but there is no better arrangement than Iz’. Kyle and I also danced to this at your wedding….a very special moment. Safe travels.

  2. Hey Erin –
    Great to see all your updates, and Autumn is absolutely beautiful. Do you mind giving me the password to your protected posts? E-mail me or contact me via my blog (vanbrunts.blogspot.com). Thanks!

Leave a Reply

