How do we want to be remembered?

(This picture has nothing to do with the post. I just thought it was cute.)

I know this is (sorta) a morbid subject, especially at my 33 years of age, but it is something I have been thinking about a lot lately. I guess we all do at some point. I would think that most of us go through times in our lives where we are faced with our own mortality more often for some reason or another. I think I am faced with the question above more often than most people because of my job as a teacher- specifically a geography teacher who teaches about the many inspirational people that go along with the world we live in.

This past week we have been studying the topic of South Africa and Nelson Mandela. After spending a few weeks in that country a few years ago I have had that country, as well as the entire continent of Africa on my mind quite often. I am truly inspired by how much one persons actions can change the face of a country or culture. How Nelson Mandela, Mahatma Gandhi, Mother Theresa, Malcolm X, MLK Jr., and the many, many others out there who have spent their lives taking risks to make this world better is truly an inspiration to all.

Now, don’t get me wrong. Although I want to make my mark on the world, as we all do, I think a mark that large would be a burden too big for me. Instead, while looking at all the names above, I wonder what I might be remembered for. Ya, I’ve got some serious flaws: I’m lazy, don’t always think before I speak, and can be pretty bossy and selfish. But, I would hope at my funeral those wouldn’t be highlighted. Instead, I would hope people remember a couple other things instead.

First, I love kids- all kids. My own, my students, and all orphans and children around the world. There is something so beautiful about their innocence and love. Kids are the building blocks, and I want to always remember their importance in this world and my life.

I hope people remember how I really care about education- especially education that teaches children that we are all valued. For example, when River ran around the other day playing “guns,” I stopped him and asked him what he is doing. He then told me he was shooting “bad guys”, so I gently asked him why bad guys are bad. My dear son looked down and said something that I feel is so important for all people to remember: “Because momma, bad guys are bad because they are sad.” I want to be remembered for that. I want to be remembered for reminding my children that no one needs to be hurt, and that if we were all valued like we should be, this world would be a better place.

I also hope that I am someday remembered as a laid back person. Easy to be with, and pretty fun.

But mostly, I hope to be remembered for my love. I LOVE my family. I LOVE my friends. I LOVE this amazing world we live in, and I LOVE all of the differences that come along with it.

What do you want to be remembered for? (Yes, this is a dialogue. It’s more fun if you participate. I’d love to hear what all my dear friends and family want to be remembered for- as well as the many wonderful people who join me in by bloggy world.:) Write away!

3 thoughts on “How do we want to be remembered?

  1. This is an excellent question. For me, I see it as a slightly different take on my usual thoughts about goals and the kind of life I want to lead. Its looking at these things through the eyes of those who love and will will ultimately remember you. A good way to learn this is to ask how people see you now, what do they remember about you now? My first reaction is: I remember that you care deeply about those you love, that you love to laugh, that you are always honest, that you seek to live life to the fullest, that you always want to learn about new things, that you love to travel – not because of the places although they are beautiful, but because of the people, and finally that you are a dear friend, not the kind that I talk to every day, but the kind that will always be there.

  2. It seems, even from my early life, people seem to remember laughing a lot with me. I don’t seem to remember laughing that much . . . so I find that to be strange. Later in life, I’m sure that I’ll be remembered for other things… hopefully it will be good thoughts.

  3. Short answer: I want to be remembered as a woman who found her way and made her time on earth count. I want people to look at my life and say, “She knew what she was supposed to do with her life, and imagine that — she did it.”

Leave a Reply

