love and marriage…

This past weekend I spent an INCREDIBLE time with many family and friends in Buffalo, NY at my cousin Katie’s wedding. It was so much fun to be with so many loved ones! And instead of telling you all the crazy details about the beautiful rehearsal dinner, silly pre-wedding girl time, gorgeous wedding (with lots of fun dancing!) and relaxing “post-wedding sunday brunch”, I’m going to attach to this post my matron of honor speech that I delivered during the super yummy dinner. It was fun writing it, and even better for me to think about it.

Sure love my family… especially my hubby. I’m a lucky girl.

Enjoy.

* * * * * * * *

I was planning on starting this speech about my goofy cousin with a little story and lessons from the movie “What about Bob”. See, many years ago we spent a Christmas vacation together where it was watched roughly 100 times and the saying of “baby steps” took on a meaning of its own.

Then I thought I could just crack some jokes since my baby cousin Kate has always had quite a way with humor, and Jimmy proved her counterpart when he decided that instead of popping the question on katie’s birthday, or on a nice romantic weekend, he chooses to ask katie to marry him on HIS birthday. Of course that was not expected, but it gave every one of us quite a good laugh.

But instead I recently happened upon a few quotes and lessons from one of my favorite storybook characters. In the past year, Kyle and I have been reading Winnie the Pooh books to our son River almost every night, so the story of Winnie and his friends have been at the forefront of my mind.

It’s funny how quotes from a kids book can really tug at your heart, especially when your beautiful baby cousin is getting married, and some very special people that many of us care about are missing from her big day. A year ago when Katie and Jimmy were engaged, Grandma and Grandpa were excited for Kate and and giving her (I’m sure) lots of suggestions on what to do for the wedding. But, although we all know they are here with us in spirit, their bodies have recently departed us for what we all know is a better and happy place.

So what does this have to do with good old winnie the pooh? The cute little bear who had a honey-filled obsession and friends that seemed to just let him get away with being lazy? Pooh, you see, had an incredible insight into loss and love. Hopefully Katie, you and Jimmy can live by some of these lessons that Winnie and his friends have shared with us, you know, real-live people who love each other immeasurably but have to deal with everyday joys and pains.

The first lesson I found for tonight was a conversation between Pooh and Piglet:

“Piglet sidled up to Pooh from behind. “Pooh?” he whispered.
“Yes, Piglet?”
“Nothing,” said Piglet, taking Pooh’s hand. “I just wanted to be sure of you.”

Be present.

Be present for one another. Not just physically, but emotionally. I am sure this has been said to you many a time, but it truly is important. Say it, be it, live it.

Lesson #2:

“How lucky I am to have something that makes saying goodbye so hard.”

Be thankful for one another and know how lucky you truly are. Jimmy, Katie is funny, loyal, beautiful and loving beyond belief. And Katie, Jimmy is hilarious, kind, and so much fun to be around (as well as super cute). These pieces of each other are things to cherish. Even in those days when you get bored with one another. Actually, especially those days.

Last lesson for the night:

“If you live to be a hundred, I want to live to be a hundred minus one day so I never have to live without you.”

This lesson I found from pooh is my favorite, and I think that although you should not take it literally, I hope it will be a reminder that that is how you want feel about one another. That sort of love, that kind of connection should be the goal of any relationship. There will be times when achieving that goal may be hard, and that is OK. Just work, work, work to get back to that feeling. Do everything you can, because in the end, you only have each other.

(Well, and all of us:)

So I raise a toast to 2 of the most fun, kind and caring people I know. I hope these lessons from Pooh will help guide you in the years ahead and that you know that all of us here, in body and in spirit, will support you in everything you do.

To Katie and Jimmy!

One thought on “love and marriage…

  1. Fabulous dear friend! This are words any of us can live by. Thank you for reminding me of them.

    xoxoxo
    Bets

Leave a Reply

