smorgasbord summer

I can’t believe it’s been so long. Have I really not written in like a month and a half? You would think with all this time I’d actually have lots to say…

Well, I do, but I’ve just been too much of a lazy butt to do it.
So, let’s start at the beginning.

School’s out. For those of you who don’t know I have decided to take off the next year to write my dissertation. The kids are (mostly) going to keep going to school/daycare, and I am going to set up an office in our local coffee shop. I was sad to be leaving… well, at least my coworkers and students, but I have started to get really excited to have the opportunity to devote so much time to writing. To say it lightly, I want to get it done.

After a week or so at home I then hopped a plane to Hawaii where me and 4 of my closest friends decided to ditch our families for 10 days and play. Not sure what to say about those wonderful, relaxing, beautiful days except for just that. It was pretty amazing. Doing things like that with girlfriends is a true treasure in life.

Then came home for my cute little boys 5th birthday. Post on that to follow.

And then a few days later we traveled north to our friends cabin for a few nights before heading to Colorado for a week where we hung around with my parents and brother/sis-in-law before heading up to Ft. Collins to see Kyle’s Grandma Loretta for her 90th birthday party. It was all great fun and a whirlwind.

And now I’m home. Ya, for like 6 days before heading up to the Adirondacks for our annual summer trip. Kyle is working hard at getting his EMT certification so he has not been able to join us on many parts of these outings but is looking forward to a week camping and playing up near Duluth in mid-August.

Life sure gets away from you sometimes, but I’m not complaining.

There is much more I need to say, but I will post more soon. At least get a little more in depth about a few of the high (or low) lights thus far.

Happy summer all. Eat it up!

Leave a Reply

