Dearest Autumn on your 2nd (and 1/6)ish birthday,

Posin in Hawaii
Posin in Hawaii

Okay, ya, I know. This birthday letter is roughly 2 and a half months late. Oops. These past few months I have been writing in quite a different format, and so therefore just gave up on writing in this venue. We’ve had some fun these past few months though, so I don’t feel too bad.

These last months with you have been so much fun. Although I have been quite busy, my time with you has been precious. This year I have been so blessed to have a lot of Autumn/Mommy time due to the Friday’s where we just hang out together. The year started off with us going to gymnastics in the mornings (where you proved to me that you are a beast and that those really ARE muscles bulging out of your arm) and then heading to the bakery to pick up some cookies to eat and bring to Daddy at work. That was fun.

Lately, we have been doing many more errands and putzing around town during our days together. It cracks me up when you are in the car with me and all you want to do is talk. Usually to me, but sometimes you are just good at talking to yourself. Or singing. Yep- girl you can SING. My favorite lately is when you randomly spout out Raffi songs (baby beluga is a favorite) or better yet, Call me maybe. The amount of songs that you know and can sing in tune at 2 astounds me.

River was just nominated by his teachers in his kindergarten class to be the “Next American Idol” but I think it’d just be better if you two started something together. You two have some SKILLS.

About a month ago you spent some time (along with the rest of us) in our happy state called “Hawaii.” Although you brought a pretty disgusting sickness along with you (to so kindly pass along to the rest of us) you were a happy little bathing beauty while there. Playing at the pool was your thing, and although the beach was okay- you weren’t quite into it yet. I guess you just want to be like your brother at that age- weird about the sand. Strange children.

Cousins
Cousins
Easter modesty.
Easter modesty.
Easter egg hunt!
Easter egg hunt!

Speaking of your brother- you guys are still pretty darn adorable together. Yes, you drive each other quite crazy sometimes (typically, you driving him crazy- but you are the younger sibling so that is the way it’s supposed to be) but you two can find your nitch and just have some fun together. You LOVE doing what River does- the good and the bad. It’s cute. Sometimes.

Sibling love.
Sibling love.
Valentines day, 2013
Valentines day, 2013

This last month you started potty training. You are a rock star at it! Honestly the only one holding you back is me, since I just don’t always trust you so I have plenty of pull ups on hand, but you really get it. I think your one hang up in this is the amount of time you spend on the potty. You, my darling girl, have figured out that while sitting on the potty you have a constant crowd cheering for you. So if you get the opportunity, you sit on it, ALL THE TIME. Yep, you like your attention.

Speaking of attention, I was in the shower the other day and you were crying because I was taking a shower and not paying attention to you. And then you started crying harder and screaming “WET! WET!” At that moment I looked out of the shower to see what it was you were talking about and you were pointing to the tear on your cheek. You were crying because you were crying. Sheesh. You can be quite a drama queen sometimes.

But man, I love you endlessly. You crack me up 23 hours of the day and I can just see the love emanating from your little, big heart. You bring so much joy to everyone you pass (and all of those people tell me that I’m in for it in 15 years) and you live like I want to live- fully.

I’m so proud to call you my daughter, my blessing, my happy.

Love you baby girl. Happy (belated) birthday.

love, momma

proud momma.
proud momma.
2 thoughts on “Dearest Autumn on your 2nd (and 1/6)ish birthday,

Leave a Reply

