Giving to the Max.

Today, in the state of Minnesota it is “Give to the Max Day.” I’m always happy when this day rolls around  because it is a day where I really sit down and decide what wonderful non-profits to give to.

In the past years this day has been very focused on organizations that directly help my family. Specifically my kiddos are the ones whom I think of most when I pull out the checkbook. I am thankful that these places offer great experiences for my kids, which in turn makes my job as a mom that much easier.

Part of the problem is that there are so many great organizations to give to. So many places in our lives that need the little boost of help to keep their finances in the red. I just wish I could give to all of them, but understand in my heart that picking just a few is a necessity and that we can’t fund EVERYthing that we believe in.

And then, of course, there are thoughts in my head about families I know that could use that same money where my dollar would go far. Although “Give to the Max Day” is so fantastic for many non-profits, non-profit status can’t be achieved on a family level. Sometimes I just think that I should just give to that one single family to help them buy food for a month.

You know, I guess I should just be thankful that I am even able to have this dilemma, that I am blessed enough to even have the opportunity to think of this.

So many in this world are on the other end. Helping organizations, or people directly, is the least I can do.

And if we can, so should we all.

One thought on “Giving to the Max.

  1. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished
    to say that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts.
    After all I’ll be subscribing in your rss feed and I
    am hoping you write once more very soon!

Leave a Reply

